European integration

Institution	Characteristics	Members
European Union (EU)	 The EU is an economic and political union: It is a single market enabling goods, services, money and people to move freely (the 4 freedoms). It pursues political goals, for example, human rights, external relations and security. 	28 countries
Eurozone	The Eurozone is a monetary union with a common currency (€) and a monetary policy by the European Central Bank (ECB).	19 EU-countries
European Free Trade Association (EFTA)	 The EFTA is a free trade area: Promotion of free trade by reducing or abolishing trade barriers (customs duty etc.) Third country relations by EFTA free trade and partnership agreements as well as by member countries individually 	4 countries
European Economic Area (EEA)	The EEA unites the EU and the EFTA into an internal market enabling the 4 freedoms.	3 EFTA-countries (without Switzerland) and the EU
Schengen Area	 The Schengen Area has the following features: People can cross internal borders without border checks. There are rules about checks at the external borders. 	26 countries (22 EU- countries and the 4 EFTA- countries)

Members look page 2 (October 2016)

Country (if member = ●)	EU	Eurozone	EFTA	EEA	Schengen Area
Austria	•	•		•	•
Belgium	•	•		•	•
Bulgaria	•			•	
Croatia	•			•	
Cyprus	•	•		•	
Czech Republic	•			•	•
Denmark	•			•	•
Estland	•	•		•	•
Finland	•	•		•	•
France	•	•		•	•
Germany	•	•		•	•
Greece	•	•		•	•
Hungary	•			•	•
Iceland			•	•	•
Ireland	•	•		•	
Italy	•	•		•	•
Latvia	•	•		•	•
Liechtenstein			•	•	•
Lithuania	•	•		•	•
Luxembourg	•	•		•	•
Malta	•	•		•	•
Netherlands	•	•		•	•
Norway			•	•	•
Poland	•			•	•
Portugal	•	•		•	•
Romania	•			•	
Slovakia	•	•		•	•
Slovenia	•	•		•	•
Spain	•	•		•	•
Sweden	•			•	•
Switzerland			•		•
United Kingdom	•			•	

Integration in Europa_E.doc